Lens Fun.

2013-03-04 12.33.53

Today I finally got my hands on a 50mm Pentax Asahi lens that I have been searching for! It is in brilliant condition and I can not wait to start using it. Unfortunately, the adapter I ordered has not arrived yet which means I can’t actually use it yet. But in todays tutorial, Peter had heard that the photography department had acquired a 50mm macro lens and asked if I would like to try it out. Of course I jumped at the opportunity and I spent the day experimenting with the lens.

IMG_0043_place_thumb

The lens is a 50mm Sigma macro lens. It is a brilliant lens and I had a lot of fun using it, but essentially it does the same job as what I can do with an extension tube and a £20 50mm prime lens. The only major difference I have found is that with the Sigma, the focal range is much larger. I could focus on an object 10ft away, but then pull the focus in to something that is less than an inch infront of the lens. With the extension tubes fitted and using a lens that is not specifically a macro lens, the focal range won’t allow me to focus on an object far away from the lens. This doesn’t pose much of a problem to me as I dont have the intention of shooting anything at a distance, the only situation I can see the longer focal range being of significant use is if I want to do focus pulls or throws which I think would work quite nicely. In any case it is possible for me to rent it out for a couple of days.

Reflection – Getting to grips with a lens specifically made for macro was a great experience. The ease of using it to capture stunning macro shots was a real eye opener for me, as working with the extension tubes and my 18 – 55mm lens has been a process of trial and error. I feel that, although the Sigma lens is easier to use, I would not be able to have it for an extended amount of time and therefor is not very practical. Using the extension tubes will prove to be more of a challenge to get the shots looking perfect, but it is a challenge I am excited to undertake.

Actions – Once my adapter for the 50mm lens arrives, I will begin to construct my test shoots.

Leave a Reply

